Hypergravity (and why we need it)

How creatures are reacting to normal gravity we can see in our daily life.

For our investigation something else is interesting: the areas of the force of gravity that are higher or lower than the normal one. What is the effect of this force on the foraminifera? Especially the movement and the growth of the shell are important to us.

In space our foraminifera are exposed to “microgravity” – weightlessness.

Next to this examiniation of lower gravity, higher gravity is decisive too. To create this “hypergravity” we don’t even have to leave the earth. Do you know the feeling of being in a bus and the driver stops the bus surprisingly so your body is pushed forward? This feeling is established through forces of hypergravity.

To create a stabil and constant force of hyper gravity, a centrifuge is used. As you can see in the video, a centrifuge is a machine that rotates about its own axis with a defined speed.

We have the opportunity to use a centrifuge of the Hochschule Bremen – special thanks to Prof. Jan-Henning Dirks, whose centrifuge is at our disposal for our experiments kindly. Normally he is investigating insects, but obviously we are going to investigate foraminifera. We will put them in the centrifuge for several weeks and measure exactly the same data as we do in space (with microgravity).

Additionally there is a third control group of foraminifera, that is exposed to normal force of gravity.

After collecting the data, we are going to compare and analyze the measurements. That is how we draw important conclusions for our investigation.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hypergravitation (und warum wir sie brauchen)

Wie sich Lebewesen unter normaler Gravitation, also unter der Erdanziehungskraft verhalten, können wir in unserem alltäglichen Leben feststellen.

Für unsere Forschung an Foraminiferen sind die Bereiche der Gravitationskraft interessant, die niedriger oder höher als die normale Erdanziehungskraft sind. Wie wirkt sich diese besondere Kraft aus? In unserem Fall interessiert uns besonders die Bewegung und das Schalenwachstum der Foraminiferen.

Im Weltall sind unsere Foraminferen der Mikrogravitation ausgesetzt – der Schwerelosigkeit.

Neben der Untersuchung der niedrigen Gravitation ist aber auch die Untersuchung der hohen Graviation entscheidend. Für die Erzeugung dieser Hypergravitation müssen wir hierbei nicht einmal die Erde verlassen. Kennt jemand das Gefühl, wenn der Bus ruckartig bremst und man nach vorne gedrückt wird? Genau dieses Gefühl entsteht durch Hypergravitationskräfte.

Um eine gleichmäßige Hypergravitationskraft zu erzeugen, benutzt man eine Zentrifuge. Wie man auf dem Video sehen kann, ist eine Zentrifuge ein Gerät, das sich  einer bestimmten Geschwindigkeit um seine eigene Achse dreht.

Freundlicherweise besteht für uns die Möglichkeit, eine Zentrifuge der Hochschule Bremen zu nutzen – ein besonderer Dank geht an dieser Stelle an Prof. Jan-Henning Dirks, der uns seine Zentrifuge für unsere Versuche zur Verfügung stellt. Eigentlich erforscht er mit der Zentrifuge Insekten, doch wir werden natürlich Foraminiferen untersuchen. Dabei werden wir diese über mehrere Wochen in die Zentrifuge einsetzen und dabei genau die Daten messen, die wir auch bei unseren Versuchen in Schwerelosigkeit sammeln.

Zusätzlich vermessen wir noch eine dritte Gruppe von Foraminiferen, die in der normalen Erdanziehungskraft lebt.

Die gesammelten Messdaten können verglichen und ausgewertet werden. So können wir wichtige Ruckschlüsse auf unsere Forschung ziehen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.