Forarex or Foralex?

It may not remain hidden from attentive readers, that something about this homepage changed: it is now called “FORAREX”, not “FORALEX”.

ARE WE FORAREX OR FORALEX?

Indeed this is confusing, because the answer is: we are both.

As you can see on the picture, we are pursuing a short-term goal with FORAREX. FORAREX is a valuable and necessary step on our way to the International Space Station and FORALEX.

We are concentrating on this project at least until the rocket launch of the REXUS-programme in one year. During this time period we are appearing as FORAREX. Nevertheless, we are keeping our long-term goal in mind.

WHAT IS FORAREX?

The centre of FORAREX is the rocket flight during the REXUS/BEXUS programme and the investigation of the consequences of short-term micro gravity on foraminifera. A rocket flight brings new challenges – for the organism but also for the design of our experiment. The electronics, mechanics and the software have to resist vibrations, high velocity and the distance form earth. We need to consider special risks. The foraminfera are going to experience stress during the flight, which is important.

All of this aspects have to be evaluated before we are even able to begin with the planing of a long-term investigation on ISS.

WHAT IS FORALEX?

Our long-term goal is to investigate the consequences of micro gravity over a period of several weeks (not just several minutes as on the rocket flight). If you want to know why we think that this is an interesting topic, you can have a look here.

RESULT:

Until rocket launch we are working flat out on FORAREX and appear under this name.

But on a long-term basis we are pursuing the goal to investigate foraminifera over a longer period of time with FORALEX.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Foralex oder Forarex?

Einige aufmerksame Leser werden vielleicht schon bemerkt haben, dass sich eine Kleinigkeit auf unserer Website verändert hat: ab jetzt steht oben links „FORAREX“ und nicht mehr „FORALEX“.

SIND WIR JETZT FORALEX ODER FORAREX?

Diese Frage hat schon öfter für Verwirrung gesorgt, denn die Antwort lautet: wir sind beides.

Wie man auf der Grafik erkennen kann, ist FORAREX also ein Projekt, was ein kurzfristiges Ziel verfolgt. FORAREX ist daher also ein notwendiger und wichtiger Schritt auf dem Weg zu FORALEX.

Mindestens bis zum Start der REXUS-Rakete in nun genau einem Jahr konzentrieren wir uns vollständig auf FORAREX und treten auch unter diesem Namen auf. Dabei behalten wir aber immer unser langfristiges Ziel im Hinterkopf.

WAS IST FORAREX?

Das Ziel von FORAREX – also dem Raketenflug im Rahmen des REXUS/BEXUS Programms – ist die Untersuchung der Auswirkung der kurzzeitigen Schwerelosigkeit auf die Foraminiferen. Ein Raketenflug stellt für die Lebewesen, aber auch für den Experimentaufbau an sich eine große Herausforderung da. Mechanik, Elektronik und Software müssen den Erschütterungen, hohen Geschwindigkeiten und die Entfernung von der Erde trotzen. Auch müssen besondere Risiken beachtet werden. Für die Foraminiferen stellt der Flug ebenfalls eine Stressituation dar. All das muss beachtet und untersucht werden, bevor es überhaupt mit dem Planen einer langfristigen Forschungsreihe auf der ISS losgehen kann.

WAS IST FORALEX?

Langfristig ist das Ziel die Untersuchung die Auswirkung der Schwerelosigkeit über einen Zeitraum von mehreren Wochen (und nicht, wie während der Fluges, mehreren Minuten). Wieso wir das für interessant halten, kann man hier nachlesen.

FAZIT:

Bis zum Raketenstart arbeiten wir also mit Hochdruck als „FORAREX“ und sind auch unter diesem Namen zu finden. Langfristig verfolgen wir allerdings mit „FORALEX“ das Ziel, Foraminiferen unter einem längeren Zeitraum zu untersuchen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.