Functional Test of the FlowCell

During the functional test the foraminfera was injected into the FlowCell for the very first time. The FlowCell will be home to them during the rocket experiment. On the one hand it is important that it is possible to measure and watch the experiment appropriately. On the other hand the FlowCell needs to be a safe environment for the foraminifera, that pleases them. 

This problem can be quite difficult to solve. We can only install one design of the experiment in the rocket – so it has to function. That‘s why the design of the FlowCell is crucial for the result of our experiment, so we are testing it carefully. 

Then she is injected into the FlowCell.
The foraminifera is in the FlowCell!

The foraminifera is injected into the FlowCell with a technique that was developed for this purpose only. You can see on the video how she gets into her new home. 

Last CheckUps.
The measurements can start now!

To control whether she is doing well, we are measuring the oxygen in the water amongst other things. The oxygen is the product of photosynthesis of seaweeds, that are living in the water, too. A foraminifera needs this oxygen to survive. As you can see in the measurement results, the content of oxygen decreases during night time. This is not worrying though – at night there is no light, so the seaweeds just stop doing photosynthesis. 

Consequently the data is a good sign for us – it means that the foraminifera has oxygen to survive in the FlowCell. 

The only problem during the functional test was the leaky reservoir for circulation of water, which is necessary to distribute oxygen in the water evenly. Due to that a new prototype will be printed in 3D.

The important thing is: the foraminifera survived, so the functional test was a success!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Funktionstest der FlowCell

Während unserem ersten Functional Test wurde eine Foraminifere zum ersten Mal in die FlowCell injiziert. Die FlowCell ist der Ort, indem die Foraminfere während des Raketenexperiments leben wird. Daher ist wichtig, dass einerseits die notwendigen Beobachten und Messungen gemacht werden können, andererseits muss sie der Foraminifere einen sicheren Lebensraum bieten, indem sie sich wohlfühlt.

Diese Problematik bietet ein großes Spannungsfeld. Wir werden nur einen Experimentdesign Richtung All schicken und dieser muss funktionieren. Das Design der FlowCell ist daher für den Ausgang des Experiments entscheidend und wird ausgiebig getestet.

Zu Beginn wird die Foraminifere eingesaugt.
Sie wird in die FlowCell eingespritzt.
Foraminifere ist in der FlowCell!

Die Foraminfere wird mithilfe einer eigens für diesen Zweck designten Technik in die FlowCell eingespritzt, wie man auf dem Video sehen kann. So gelangt sie sicher in ihr neues Zuhause.

Letzte CheckUps.
Die Messungen können beginnen!

Um zu prüfen, wie es der Foraminifere in ihrem neuen Umfeld geht, messen wir den Sauerstoff des Wassers in der FlowCell. Der Sauerstoff entsteht durch Fotosynthese der im Wasser lebenden Algen. Foraminiferen benötigen diesen Sauerstoff zum Überleben. Wie man in den Messergebnissen sehen kann, sinkt der Sauerstoffgehalt bei Nacht. Das liegt daran, dass es nachts kein Licht gibt, durch das Fotosynthese passieren kann, es ist also völlig normal. Insofern sind die Daten positiv für uns – sie bedeuten, dass die Foraminifera Sauerstoff zum Überleben hat.

Einzig beim Wasserkreislauf gab es Schwierigkeiten – es gab ein kleines Leck am provisorischen Wasserreservoir. Daher befindet sich eine neue FlowCell momentan im (3D-)Druck.

Das Wichtigste ist dennoch, dass die Foraminifera den ersten funktionelle Test überlebt hat. Es war also ein Erfolg!

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.